top of page

Why Every Mother Needs A Mansur Gavriel Tote!


Just about every woman has a purse or tote of some sort. Purses are personal and represent one's style. I tend to go for those that are classical and less trendy. I'm not into the fad of what comes today and is gone tomorrow. I love purses that can be worn all year around for years to come if possible. What I look for in a purse is first, the quality (hands down the quality is number ONE!) the functionality, the color and than the price tag. I will pay just about whatever to find a purse that suits my needs.


Being a mother of four children all under the age of seven, I need a purse that doesn't scream "MOM" but that I can use for my kids things. Being a mother of 36 years old, I still want to keep my sense of style but be realistic with the limitations that come with being a mom. A wristlist for example; as much as I love them, won't even hold my wallet which nowadays needs to hold more than just a bank card. With my last child I shelled out well over $200 for a designer baby bag from Timi & Leslie. Totally loved that baby bag and never regretted buying it. Yet now that she is two years old, I find myself just lugging around a diaper and wipes which easily fit into my tote purse. Therefore, I don't need to carry around a baby bag and a purse anymore because as she grows her needs have changed.


My favorite purse of them all is the Hermes Birkin. However I don't favor the price tag. (However ill talk about this beautiful handbag at another time.) While this purse is not kid friendly, a Birkin 35 will hold everything in there plus the kids stuff. So I quite fancy it! And come on, its a Birkin!! Who doesn't want one of those!! Ok back to reality here....However for more practical reasons, I adore the Louis Vuitton Neverfull MM. Even the price tag on this purse doesn't bother me because it can hold it all plus the kitchen sink. The only thing that bugs me about this purse is that when its too weighed down it can seem bulky at the bottom and I don't fancy that look. So its best to keep it light to avoid making the purse look like its overflowing and lose its shape. And yet even though I love this purse a lot, I'm still selective as to when I shall pull it out because its not cheap either but it functionality is one I covet. And then there's my most loved Mansur Gavriel Tote (MG).


First lets start with how classic this purse is. There is no fancy hardware, in your face logos or anything that makes it standout and scream "Yes this is a MG purse". Unless you know who Mansur Gavriel is, then this purse will pass by you. However for those who are totally into the high-end-fashion-can't-find-anywhere-purse-train, then you know about this bad boy and how there are waiting lists of waiting lists to simply get your hands on one! The only thing this purse has as far as signature is a Mansur Gavriel logo at the bottom. And I mean way down at the bottom in small letters.


This tote not only holds it all but keeps it shape all around. I have used this purse to the gym, shopping, for the kids, work, school; you name it I have done it all with this purse. This purse holds its shape like nobodies business. It doesn't buckle, bulge or bend easily. The leather is an ever so soft leather but strong at the same time type of material. The inside is nicely made of leather as well, which keeps it from getting bulky at any angle. The tote is made of a soft Italian leather that is vegetable dyed which is safer for the environment. You can buy this purse in many different colors both in the outside and in.


Photo Credit: Glamour


However the ONLY draw back I have with this purse is that it scratches way to easily and water causes stains on it. In order to add "character" to the purse, MG decided to not treat the leather so that it would naturally scratch and age "gracefully". However at a price tag of over $600, I don't think so!! I decide to treat the leather (both inside and out) with Renapur Leather Balm in order to protect it against water and scratches. I have to say, I have taken this purse with me to the gym, on trips to London, in cars, shopping, on the train; and till now, not a scratch in sight since I treated the purse. It has been caught in the rain, and the water repels off easily leaving no white stain behind.


The MG purse is like the LV Neverfull and Birkin. It has a wide open mouth so you can fill it with whatever you carry with no problem. I tend to carry my makeup bag, the MG small pouch purse that comes with the tote, my wallet and at times my Coach Wristlet if I need to. You can throw everything into it, however you run the risk of losing everything in the great abyss as well. So its best to buy a purse divider or carry smaller pouches to keep your things more manageable to find. The MG does not have an inner pocket, so proper storing is needed in order to not get lost in it all.


As a mom who tries to stay styles and somewhat trendy, this purse totally does it for me. I love it so much that I take this tote with me everywhere I go. I can put all my things into it PLUS my kids diapers and wipes and extra kid stuff and still have room for more. This tote comes in two sizes, small and large. I bought the small as the large was a bit to large for my likely. However even the small still works just as well to hold it all.


So tell me, what purse do you fancy that you find is mom material but still keeps you trendy?

Keep Smiling :)

Dayana

SaveSave

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page